AGM 2020

AGM 2020

Location: The Courtroom, Nottingham Trent University, Shakespeare Street, Nottingham NG1 4FQ
Start: 23rd Jun 2020 5:30 pm
End: 23rd Jun 2020 8:00 pm

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Annual General Meeting of the Nottinghamshire Law Society will be held on Tuesday 23rd June 2020

Arrival to the virtual AGM is from 5:45pm with the AGM commencing at 6pm prompt.   The AGM will be hosted by Microsoft Teams. 

The AGM is a free event to attend by all members of the Society.

The format of the AGM was amended last year and will be repeated this year to encourage informal networking and to thank members of the Society’s sub-committees.  As virtual guests, you are invited to join the Executive and Council of Nottinghamshire Law Society with refreshments and canapes of your own choice. 

AGM Agenda

  1. Welcome & apologies.
  2. Minutes of the last AGM of the Society.
  3. To receive and adopt the Accounts of the Society.
  4. To appoint the Auditors of the Society.
  5. To receive the outgoing report of the President.
  6. Presentation of Prizes for 2019/2020.
  7. Acknowledgment of sub-committees of the Society.
  8. To appoint the new President of the Society.
  9. To appoint the new Vice-President of the Society.
  10. To appoint the new Deputy Vice-President of the Society.
  11. To appoint the Honorary Treasurer of the Society.
  12. To appoint the Honorary Secretary of the Society.
  13. To appoint the Council of the Society.
  14. Any other business relevant to the Annual General Meeting.

Nominations of Office for 2020-2021

The following have been nominated for election as officers of the Society for the ensuing year:  

President Philip Turton
Vice President Janine Smith
Deputy Vice President Stephen Luke
Honorary Treasurer Jeremy Allen
Honorary Secretary Shama Gupta

Note 1: A secret ballot will take place for the above offices of Deputy Vice President, Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Treasurer in the event that one or more additional candidates who are not members of the Council shall have been nominated and seconded in accordance with the Rules and Standing Orders of the Society.

Note 2: The following have been nominated to fill the Local Constituency Seats, Local Authority Representative and Bar Representatives:

Newark & Sherwood Lesley Purveur (Larken & Co)
Mansfield Catherine Walker (Bryan & Armstrong)
Broxtowe Marie Dancer (Richard Nelson LLP)
Local Authority Representative

Nicola Dumville (Broxtowe Borough Council)

Civil Bar Representative John Campbell
Criminal Bar Representative Lisa Hardy
  • Sole Practitioner Representative

In the absence of any other nominations in accordance with the Society's rules, the above persons will be appointed without an election.

Jason Waghorne

President 2019-2020