President's  Cup 2019 - and the winner is...

President's Cup 2019 - and the winner is...

Written By: Michelle Taylor
Written: 11th Dec 2019

Every year the President's  Cup negotiation competition is run through the Society and this year we were overwhelmed with the number of entries received from solicitors, barristers, trainee solicitors, pupil barristers, LPC students, BPTC students and paralagels (with upto 5 years' experience) from Nottinghamshire.

In brief the competition consists of two rounds, the first round takes the form of a written submission, based on a set of facts common to both sides of the negotiation. The two highest scoring written responses will make the final round.   This year the finalists were Jack Stuart and Elinor Watts from Nottingham Law School.

The final took place on Monday 9th December, held at Gateley PLC Park View House, Nottingham.  Both Jack and Elinor had prepared their sides of the negotiation and after 10 minutes of discussing the agenda, the negotiation began (timed at 45 minutes) in front of judging panel, which consisted of President Jason Waghorne and members of the Education & Training Committee.

Both finalists presented very well, they were clear in their statements, controlled in their timings and acted with the best interest of their clients.  The competition was great to observe and the judging panel felt they had a very close decision to make as both candidates were outstanding.

So who did win...

We are pleased to announce Jack Stuart as this year's President's  Cup winner - well done Jack!

Elinor was a great finalist and they both showed so much promise in the world of negotiation.  Elinor received the finalist prize of £150, perfect for a little Christmas pampering!

We would like to thank Gateley PLC and Helen Webster for allowing us to use the wonderful facilities of Park View House and their kind hospitality.

The President's Cup competition will be launched again in October 2020, so watch this space for your entry next year!

President Jason Waghorne presenting the President's Cup Trophy to winner Jack Stuart from Nottingham Law School.

President Jason Waghorne with finalist Elinor Watts from Nottingham Law School.


President Jason Waghorne with finalists Jack Stuart & Elinor Watts at Gateley PLC Park View House, Nottingham