AGM 2019

Written By: Michelle Taylor
Written: 8th May 2019

Tuesday 30th April, 2019 ~ Annual General Meeting

Despite the last minute re-location of the AGM venue due to a gas leak, the AGM was soon underway, with outgoing President Laura Pinkney, presenting her speech and final year presentations. 

The AGM then welcomed Jason Waghorne, from Rothera Sharp to take up the mantel of President of the Nottinghamshire Law Society for 2019. 

Once again, the AGM was very well attended by members of Nottinghamshire Law Society committees and representatives from NJLD. 

Several presentations were made:

  • Presidents Cup winner Billy Shaw and finalist Asim Hussain 
  • Hammond Cup winner Sarah Murray and finalists Alexis Mercer, Frank Sheeran and Callum Church.
  • Practice Manager of the Year Lorraine Wheatley, with sponsors OYEZ Office Team, Craig Gutteridge.

We also welcomed new members to Council: 

  • Resolution Representative - Sushma Kotecha, from Stowe Family Law
  • Constituency Seat Representative, Broxtowe - Marie Dancer, from Richard Nelson LLP
  • Education & Training Committee Chair - Helen Fanning, from Cartwright King
  • Equality & Diversity Committee Co-Chair - Lauren Crow, from MJC Law

We also presented two charity cheques to the John Pearce winning team captain Peter Cartwright, from the Mountweazels from University of Nottingham School of Law.  The winning team nominated Prostate Cancer Research Centre as their chosen charity, it was wonderful to present a cheque to the value of £902.00

Following on from the success of the Annual Awards Dinner,  Naomi De Silva accepted a cheque £2925.00 for CRY - Cardiac Risk in the Young.  This year was an exceptional year for fundraising for charity!

Thank you to the Nottingham Conference Centre for their kind hospitality and Jay Glenn for the photography.